view_from_second_floor_window4

{link :I wrote in one of my old blog posts

neighborhood_street

this postcard-winter shot was taken by my sister in US of A}   

I never had witnessed the world around collapsing beneath the soft burden which the winter season places upon it, every year, without a miss. “Frozen face of winter” has always been my most favourite haunts in my reading, and this preference for winter moods trickled into my selection of films too. Bergman’s “Fanny and Alexander’’, according to me, is the film that captured the true essence of winter and the season of goodies, i.e. Christmas. I am quite uncertain, at this moment, about how soon would I be staring at a frosty kiss of winter on my lips which could easily launch me on a trip of dilemma – should I kiss it? would not it vanish if I kiss ? if I don’t kiss it, would not it feel bad? would not it see me as a frozen and frosty human….born as an ever optimist, I would wait for the day or the evening, for the moment when I run out into the courtyard to stare teary-eyed at the sharp kisses of icicles, the rhythmic moves of woollen & fluffy snowflakes falling down all around, piling up against the walls, covering the steps, the front door, burying the roof under their soft weight…..till then, I stay behind a brightly lit window, with many a great creation of such kind (I felt the urge to say Substitutes, damn!) warming my heart …..and I shared this poem…

 

It began to snow at midnight. And certainly
the kitchen is the best place to sit,
even the kitchen of the sleepless.
It’s warm there, you cook yourself something, drink wine 
and look out of the window at your friend eternity.
Why care whether birth and death are merely points
when life is not a straight line.
Why torment yourself eyeing the calendar
and wondering what is at stake.
Why confess you don’t have the money
to buy Saskia shoes?
And why brag 
that you suffer more than others.
If there were no silence here
the snow would have dreamed it up. 

You are alone
Spare the gestures. Nothing for show….…

{SNOW – poem by Vladimir Holan. Translated from the Czech by Ian & Jarmila Milner}.

 

 

 

 

