mother.jpg

.”….This is the first time I have ever spoken to so many people at once and I am not as good a speaker as the others, but I can explain, I think, why I joined this party at my age. I must confess, it’s not because of politics, which I know too little about…but because of the people, I have found among you. And these people told me that we must not accept everything as God-given, that it’s not all fate. I believe them, and that’s why I am here. I have come to realize there is a reason for everything for all the terrible things that happen in the world. I was married to my husband for 40 years, that’s a long time, but much too short as well. Because, what did I do all those years? I did what was expected of me, what is expected of every woman. I had children, kept house and so on. And Hermann did, what was expected of him. He went to work, he went to war, and that was the way of things. But is that life? I ask myself now? Is that really life? or did we just live in the way others wanted us to live? Was that really our life? I don’t know. Down in the valley, all you see is the mountain. But up on the mountain, you can see many valleys and mountains. Forty years is a long time for two people to be together. I thought I knew him and I thought there was no need to talk. We knew everything there was to know. But that’s not true, not true at all. We have no idea, how my husband must have suffered to have done what he did!  And I knew nothing about it. Is that life? Other people’s problems, that’s what he talked about. But we never really learned how to live together, or we were not able to get through to each other. How desperate he must have been, not knowing which way to turn! He had nobody like you to talk to who might have told him what was right. Things would have been different then. And he would not have been used after his death to fill those magazines with lies. My husband is no murderer. And he is not crazy either. He is a man who hit back because he was beaten all his life. Beaten and trampled on…If it’s true what I’ve heard here that 1 % of the population owns 80% of all wealth, the he tried in his own way to fight this injustice. The way he did it was wrong, but I want to make amends for that. I, Emma Kusters, will join you in your struggle for justice today.  …”             

Little head is busy with her work and a wonderful romantic twist of affairs …but she does not mind lean back onto Alok (our expert) to grab hold of his opinion on this masterpiece….

Update: Barb , a movie connoisseur who introduced me to Truffaut , recommends French movies unflinchingly, while I declare my loyalty to my dear Fassbinder!

 He dragged a recent survey done by Guardian Unlimited at my counter :  

{Link:In March, folks at Guardian Unlimited asked viewers to let them know what the best ever non-English films were. They’ve totted up the thousands of votes people cast to present their definitive top 40. But what did Guardian’s film writers think of peoples’ choices? Here’s the chart, and their verdicts…..}

Featured are the masters François Truffaut, Ingmar Bergman, Akira Kurosawa, Federico Fellini, Elem Klimov, Marcel Carné and Haneke.  

Am still working like a glamorous slave…..would be reviewing “The Return” as well! In the meantime, a big Hi goes to Alok, Ant, Vidya, ./w and a few others who regularly visit this space of mine…

