“Swift in its approach, the night settles
round the buildings,wraps the sea,glides
around us with the sweet and moist aroma
of the evening rain;moments slip reproachfully
between us,as we sit facing each other,
urging your hand to caress my feet under
the rustling skirt of mine; the waves run
with a sense of abandonment over the rocks,
I cant tell what sense they awake in me,
do they say something to you ?

Darkness takes the middle ground,
Do I have anything in common with you
my dear stranger – beyond the silence
of shared evening; our shadows moving
as one, the light steps on the deserted
cobbled path, the shroud of affection
the sudden clasp of our hands –
the weight of wordless universe
crowded in our hearts!

to someone who blushes all the time…umm,someone said, a beautiful poem robed in stillness…I felt you were telling me about the rain-drenched evening, how pleasant you’d felt about being with the boy,how that brief walk with him enlivened you.I could close my eyes and imagine you walking down the cobbled path running past those worn out houses. David sir said, these lines “Darkness takes the middle ground, Do I have anything in common with you, my dear stranger -” seem to lift the poem into a more complex region of meanings & questions. The line “darkness takes the middle ground” is especially effective & interesting (in a single phrase, it sketches an implied hierarchy of poss. attitudes & conclusions). “Do I have anything in common with you” rather turns the tables — even if the question seems rhetorical. “my dear stranger” is a probing paradox. The mind in the poem is not content simply to experience intimacy unthinkingly; it wants to comprehend it, question it, examine it, doubt it, and/or affirm it. Perhaps this sort of emotional complexity is part of the depth in the idea of the “lyric poem.”

