100220081068.jpg

When I close a book
I open life.
I hear
faltering cries
among harbours.
Copper ignots
slide down sand-pits
to Tocopilla.
Night time.
Among the islands
our ocean
throbs with fish,
touches the feet, the thighs,
the chalk ribs
of my country.
The whole of night
clings to its shores, by dawn
it wakes up singing
as if it had excited a guitar.

The ocean’s surge is calling.
The wind
calls me
and Rodriguez calls,
and Jose Antonio–
I got a telegram
from the “Mine” Union
and the one I love
(whose name I won’t let out)
expects me in Bucalemu.

No book has been able
to wrap me in paper,
to fill me up
with typography,
with heavenly imprints
or was ever able
to bind my eyes,
I come out of books to people orchards
with the hoarse family of my song,
to work the burning metals
or to eat smoked beef
by mountain firesides.
I love adventurous
books,
books of forest or snow,
depth or sky
but hate
the spider book
in which thought
has laid poisonous wires
to trap the juvenile
and circling fly.
Book, let me go.
I won’t go clothed
in volumes,
I don’t come out
of collected works,
my poems
have not eaten poems–
they devour
exciting happenings,
feed on rough weather,
and dig their food
out of earth and men.
I’m on my way
with dust in my shoes
free of mythology:
send books back to their shelves,
I’m going down into the streets.
I learned about life
from life itself,
love I learned in a single kiss
and could teach no one anything
except that I have lived
with something in common among men,
when fighting with them,
when saying all their say in my song.100220081067.jpg 

Ode to the Book – translated by Nathaniel Tarn

odetocommonthings.jpg 

“Odes to Common Things” by Pablo Neruda is a collection of elegant poems, which celebrate simple, ordinary things, we see/consume/use everyday, every moment, but nurture no thought about them.  Dearest master Pablo Neruda’s inquisitive study of ordinary things influences one to see the world around him/her  Afresh. It’s an evocative intellectualization of seemingly simple things which do throb with unusual images that live so far away from the naked eye. Through the irregularly formed and shaped verses, everything around is seen emerging alive with a certain degree of meaning/significance, everything is felt glowing with life, conversations are seen being struck, ….it feels as if a life is being celebrated, whose presence, till the previous moment,  has not been acknowledged. 

The street
filled with tomatoes
midday,
summer,
light is
halved
like
a
tomato,
its juice
runs
through the streets.
In December,
unabated,
the tomato
invades
the kitchen,
it enters at lunchtime….
Ode to Tomatoes

Out of lemon flowers
loosed
on the moonlight, love’s
lashed and insatiable
essences,
sodden with fragrance,
the lemon tree’s yellow
emerges,
the lemons
move down
from the tree’s planetarium….….Ode to A Lemon

Maru Mori brought me
a pair
of socks
that she knit with her
shepherd’s hands.
Two socks as soft
as rabbit fur.
I thrust my feet
inside them
as if they were
two
little boxes
knit
from threads
of sunset
and sheepskin…….
Ode to a Pair of Socks & Many others, Buy the Book, an essential for your collection.  

